• Phishing with Interac

    by  • 4/17/2005 • geek • 0 Comments

    Surprisingly good phishing scam posing as an Interac Money Transfer…

    Replacing the string after “pID” in the URL that “Marybeth” sends us results in a seemingly infinite number of laptop payments for $975…. and all you have to do is login to your Online Banking system with your bank. Oddly, any combination of login and password will log you in to your “bank’s” web site… Gosh, I wonder what’s up there?

    I tried the link for “I bank with another institution, and I get an error that my session has expired; this message comes from the REAL Interac payment page, and since I didn’t have a session with them, that makes sense. You’d think a phisher would at least put up a form there to ask for banking information… Even the option for French is bogus… I mean, is this guy even trying? First impressions were pretty good, but all you have to do is pay attention. gateway.certapay.com vs. gateway-certapay.com was a nice touch, but no follow-through; lazy crooks.

    MARYBETH HEDD has sent you an INTERAC Email Money Transfer.

    Amount: $961.00 (CAD)

    Sender’s Message: Payment for laptop.

    Expiry Date: 2005-04-20

    Action Required:
    To deposit your money, click here:

    http://gateway-certapay.com/RP.do/?pID=Sli6g20jkm8%3D

    Trouble with the link? Copy the link and paste it into your web browser address bar. Please make sure all the characters after the “pID=” are present.

    Need help?

    https://www.certapay.com/ca/oon/en/help

    I’m sure that the address information for “Tim Rushlow” below is bogus, but here it is anyhow;

    Domain Name: gateway-certapay.com
    Registrar: AAAQ.COM
    Whois Server: whois.aaaq.com
    Referral URL: http://www.aaaq.com
    Name Server: a.dns.hostway.net
    Name Server: b.dns.hostway.net
    Status: ACTIVE
    Updated Date 2005-04-11
    Creation Date: 2005-04-11
    Expiration Date: 2006-04-11

    Administrative Contact:
    Aubrey Page tim_rushlow@email.com
    5207 W. Meadowridge Road

    Sherman, TX 75092
    US
    19038922325 Fax:

    Technical Contact:
    Administrator DNS administrator@siteprotect.com
    1 N State Street
    12th Floor
    Chicago, IL 60602
    US
    +1.3122362132 Fax: +1.3122361958



    About

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *